Jump to Content Jump to Navigation Go to Sitemap

Types of discrimination covered in SA

Discrimination law doesn’t cover all unfair treatment. It only covers being treated unfairly because of certain personal characteristics. The types of discrimination covered in South Australia (either under state or federal law) are:

  • Race (includes nationality and ethnic origin)
  • Age
  • Disability (includes all types of illness, physical or mental disability, infection status and genetic risks)
  • Sexuality
  • Sex
  • Chosen gender
  • Pregnancy
  • Marital status
  • Spouse or partner’s identity
  • Caring responsibilities (needing to look after a family member)
  • Breastfeeding a child - applies in education and in customer service only
  • Religious appearance or dress - applies in education and at work only
  • Association with a child - applies in customer service only
  • Political opinion - applies at work only
  • Religion - applies at work only
  • Criminal record - applies at work only
  • Social origin - applies at work only.

More information about how these types of discrimination apply to school life, work life and community life can be found in these sections.